CLIENT IN THE NEWS: New York Magazine article with Joseph D. Savoy

The Black Orthodox

Capture joseph

Joseph David Savoy
I come from a very dysfunctional family. My dad killed his stepfather and then served four years in prison. I was born in controversy—like in the Bible when Jacob married two sisters, my dad impregnated two sisters. People feel it’s extreme to be Hasidic, but I just think, Are you kidding me? Considering what I was born into, it’s pretty normal. It gives me structure and focus and order. I feel at peace finally after all these years.

I moved to New York in 2007, and in Crown Heights the Jewish community has been wonderful. But from African-Americans, every day I get looks and stares. I’ve had people yell “Heil Hitler.” One guy threatened to stab me. If there are people behind me and I turn around, they’ll literally jump like they’ve seen a ghost.

read the full story here http://nymag.com/news/features/black-jews-2012-12/index4.html

Feedback
Was this info useful to you? Please reply to this post with feedback. We want to hear from you.

Want to gain exposure and improve your writing skills?

Write for us. Please send (2) writing samples, links to your work, BIO and/or CV to info@applesandorangespr.com

Contact Us
Call: 888-371-4718 | Email: info@applesandorangespr.com | Web:www.applesandorangespr.com

We are Social. Join the community.
Like us on Facebook | Friend Us | Follow Us on Twitter | Pin Us on Pinterest | WordPress | Blogspot

Bookmarks & Resources
StumbleUpon |Delicious

 We appreciate your support

Leave a Reply

